Sign in to follow this  
Bluesky3000

400m or Long distance to train stamina

Posted (edited)

Hi, I am an Athletics Coach, and this can be explained very specifically as engaging in Anaerobic (400m run) and Aerobic Activities (Distance)...

33ojkm0.jpg

In terms of use of Energy utilized when we engage in the Activities (expressed as ATP), the ones that uses the most output in the shortest time will be the Anaerobic Respiration. The word Complete Oxidation means when after the Activities, you feel completely Exhausted. 

For Distance Running, it is the power of sustaining the Energy for a longer period, and that requires training with ever increasing periods of Long Distance [adjusting to the painful experiences of "enduring" the accumulation of "lactic acid" releases, always hurting for the newbie which always complain of "pain" at the muscles (strain and tear), ligaments (cramped), and especially the little muscular-nerve zone (due to lack of oxygen exchange)].

It is very easy to understand that in Aerobic Activities, they are always incomplete Oxidation of Anaerobic Respiration. No Pain No Gain often is the word of LD wonderbies to many here. Often that is because the body is adapting to Aerobic Respiration state from the Non-exercise state (I  had never done had any physical exercise before in my life). Many in this forum had acquired the adaptation well (takes time, but often with success).

Your topic will be appropriate if we put that in Threshold Training...combo Aerobic cum Anerobic Respiration techniques....meaning when you run 400m...run fast fast but sustain a period of time to Recover so that enough breakup to achieve enough number of ATPs (not necessary a high number is better), but still have sustainable enough ATP needed to run for Distance (long enough) before Lactic Acid breakdown that will slow you down, exhausting you. You don't want to run long distance in an aerobic state, because you get exhausted sooner.