Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shaun1097

Fluctuating performance

Hi guys,

I am an amateur runner but what I come across is baffling so I hope to get some answers over here. Sometimes when I run, my body feels alright and I am able to maintain at a decent pace throughout the run but on other occasions, I couldn't run well and my body gives up on me early. And this happens when I did not start off at a faster pace or choose to go for a longer distance or had a long break of physical inactivity. Does anyone know why this happens? Thank you!

Hi Shaun1097! I saw your post, have some questions for you to further understand your situation before the forum members can share their experience to help you.

I am an amateur runner but what I come across is baffling so I hope to get some answers over here. Sometimes when I run, my body feels alright and I am able to maintain at a decent pace throughout the run but on other occasions, I couldn't run well and my body gives up on me early. And this happens when I did not start off at a faster pace or choose to go for a longer distance or had a long break of physical inactivity.

1) When you say amateur, are you just starting into doing runs or have been running actively for some time (say 1 year and above?).

2) Have you done a proper warm up session such as dynamic stretches/drills, light jog to prepare your body before doing a main run session? Of course, don't forget to do a cool down session after your main run workout also.

3) For your point on fast starts, it has been proven with exercise science/physiology concepts that it is performance hindering (i.e. hitting the wall earlier). So, my personal take is that fast starts may end up getting you burnt out faster.