XiaoMing

Recommendations for next running shoes

13 posts in this topic

I would appreciate advice for my next pair of shoes for moderate distance running 5-20km

I am 186cm 90kg, land on midfoot with a neutral gait.

I've done most of my running the last 4 years on Mizuno Wave 12 trainers which are now overdue replacement. They have worked well for me but I am considering moving to something with less heel cushioning/toe drop which I hope will help reduce my tenancy to land with my foot too far forward.

I am also looking for something very well ventilated. I am new to Singapore and not used to the heat&humidity here. When I do longer runs I have problems with the Mizuno's getting wet with perspiration, I did 16km at the weekend and although it was relatively cool and overcast when I finished my shoes were saturated squelching wet as if I had jumped into a puddle! I spotted some Adidas climachill trainers recently which look very well ventilated but they look more for fashion than distance running with proper foam on the midsole only.

Edited by XiaoMing

Running lab...now can donate ur sneakers; if eligible, 50 voucher off ur next running shoe...hahaha

Hi XiaoMing, looks like you are finding a pair of running shoes to continue your healthy lifestyle.... thats good... :thumbsu:

first of all, i take that your 5-20km running distance is based on per week basis....and you had been using Mizuno Wave 12 for a while.... so one option is to continue using the same Mizuno wave but get the latest version... that could prevent you from going too much into the unknowns...

you also mentioned that you have midfoot strike and wearing your current mizuno shoes (12mm drop)... and this gave you the feel that your foot always land forward.... given your weight, i would still think shoes which have high heel drops suits you as it can cushion off as much impact as possible without causing too much pressure to your joints...